Key principles of phage therapy

Bacteriophages are viruses that replicate in bacterial hosts. They occur naturally in nature and have shaped the bacterial world for millions of years. Certain bacteriophages infect specific types of bacteria. There are two distinct life cycles: during the “lysogenic” cycle, the bacteriophage integrates its DNA into the bacterium; the resulting “prophage” can improve the virulence of the bacterium.

The other cycle is the “lytic” cycle, which results in the replication of the bacteriophage in the bacterium. This “competition” between bacteriophage replication and bacterial multiplication can theoretically lead to the eradication of the bacterium; however it is not systematic.

Dynamic light scattering microscopy shows bacterial multiplication in the presence of a lytic bacteriophage (not visible) : Bacterial lysis (in green) becomes widespread and leads to the complete disappearance of the bacterial population (Pascal Maguin, Luciano Marraffini Lab, The Rockefeller University, USA)

Not all bacteria are susceptible to bacteriophages, as bacteria have developed the ability to become resistant to bacteriophages. Phage therapy, or phagotherapy, is the production of specific bacteriophages and their use in bacterial infection. It was Félix d’Hérelle, while at the Pasteur Institute, who first had the idea of using bacteriophages to treat bacterial infections in humans and animals. Due to the discovery of antibiotics and the development of beta-lactam production in the post-war period, phage therapy gradually disappeared in France just before the 1980s. Professor Paul Sédallian and Professor André Bertoye of the Infectious Diseases Clinic of the Croix-Rousse Hospital, part of the university hospital group, Hospices Civils de Lyon (HCL), had developed in collaboration with the Pasteur Institute of Lyon the concept of personalised phage therapy, by isolating the bacterium responsible for a complex infection in a patient, and by specifically “training” bacteriophages on this strain in the laboratory, before injecting these selected and trained bacteriophages into the patient. The history of phage therapy in Lyon is described in this article published in 2022.

Photograph of the medical team of the Infectious Diseases Clinic directed by Pr. A. Bertoye in the 1970s, in the “isolation building” of the Croix-Rousse Hospital built at the beginning of the 20th century.

 

Today bacteriophages are manufactured in Georgia. They are not available in France because they are not manufactured according to European standards of Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP), and can cause potentially severe reactions, due to insufficient purification, if used intravenously or directly in a joint (bacterial debris may remain). In France, a private company manufactures bacteriophages which can be used against golden staph, as well as bacteriophages against Pseudomonas aeruginosa, another bacterium. CRIOAc Lyon has collaborated with this company to develop and select the bacteriophages that are the most relevant for treating bone and joint infections (BJI). The use of therapeutic phages in Western Europe should follow the recommandations of the EMA (European Medicines Agency), to ensure the safety of the manufacturing process, and thereby the tolerance of the treatment.

Who should receive this treatment, and under what circumstances?

In theory, it is not possible to benefit from this type of treatment, as no study has yet been carried out in France, apart from a study carried out on burn patients. As part of its mandate as Reference Centre for Complex Osteoarticular Infections, HCL (CRIOAc Lyon) have treated some patients with bone and joint infection by phage therapy, and we have reported these experiences as “clinical cases” published in international medical journals, as well as in our scientific papers. These were mainly prosthetic joint infections, mostly related to multi-resistant bacteria, patients needing salvage therapy, with new surgery and prolonged antibiotic therapy as sole solutions. Phage therapy could be provided as compassionate and exceptional use, under the supervision of the French Health Authority (ANSM).

How does the treatment work (from the patient’s point of view)?

The clinical state of the patient must be discussed during a Multidisciplinary Team Meeting at CRIOAc Lyon. Then, it is necessary to obtain the target bacteria in culture and, depending on the clinical situation and the resistance of the germ, if salvage therapy by bacteriophage is deemed necessary in an exceptionally serious situation, the decision of the French Health Authority will be requested for the implementation of the treatment. The different bacteriophages available are first tested in solid and liquid media, in order to select those that are active.

phagogramme

Phagogram of solid agar medium showing areas of bacterial lysis (left; Photo T. Ferry), and dynamic phagogram in liquid medium (right; credit C. Kolenda). The bacteria, without bacteriophage, multiply in the culture medium (blue curve). The same bacteria are cultured with bacteriophages: some might be inactive (red curve), and some might be active (green curve, no bacterial growth is detected). Early bacterial growth, which is later inhibited by the bacteriophage, can be detected (turquoise curve), or bacterial growth may appear much later (purple curve).

 

The selected bacteriophages are then sent to the Hospital Pharmacist, who is responsible for making an extemporaneous magistral preparation (the day of the operation). This personalised cocktail of bacteriophages, is then administered, during the operation, by a surgeon trained for this type of treatment.

Preparation in a biosafety cabinet, in sterile conditions, of a personalised cocktail of bacteriophages in magistral preparation form, by the hospital pharmacist (Photo T. Ferry).

What are the contraindications and risks?

As no therapeutic trial has been carried out to date in France, the risks and effective doses are poorly known. This is why this type of salvage procedure is proposed, in exceptional situations, during Multidisciplinary Team Meetings.

Treatment follow-up

Follow-up of this type of treatment is identical to that of all other bone and joint infections, with particular attention to the risk of occurrence of previously unknown adverse events (fever, chills, immunisation, development of antibodies against bacteriophages) and possible relapses.

Why is it not possible to generalise this treatment?

For this treatment to be generalised, it is necessary to look for several phages in the environment that would be active against target bacteria (phage discovery) in order to build “bacteriophage banks”. It is then necessary to be able to finance production and purification according to European standards of Good Manufacturing Practice. And finally to carry out therapeutic trials in the field of bone and joint infections, in each of the potentially relevant indications, to demonstrate scientifically that phage therapy can provide a benefit.

For more information

The entire CRIOAc Lyon team, with the institutional support of HCL, Fondation HCL, université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 and CIRI, wish to further develop phage therapy. However this research is complex, and would require an investment of all the actors involved, especially the establishment of an academic (i.e. not-for-profit) bacteriophage bank covering the main bacteria involved in BJI, and in fine to propose therapeutic trials. You can discover PHAGEinLYON, and become an actor by supporting this project by clicking HERE.

Grands principes du traitement

Les bactériophages sont des virus spécifiques d’une bactérie. Ils existent naturellement dans la nature, et ont façonné le monde bactérien depuis des millénaires. Les bactériophages infectent spécifiquement un type de bactérie, et il existe deux cycles distincts. Au cours du cycle dit “lysogénique”, le bactériophage intègre son ADN dans la bactérie, et persiste sous forme de “prophage” qui peut donner des avantages à la bactérie.

L’autre cycle est le cycle dit “lytique”, qui aboutit à la multiplication du bactériophage dans la bactérie, et cette “compétition” entre la réplication bactérienne et la multiplication du bactériophage, peut aboutir en théorie à l’éradication de la bactérie, mais ce n’est pas systématique.

Vue dynamique en microscopie optique de la multiplication bactérienne en présence d’un bactériophage lytique (non visible) : La lyse bactérienne (en vert) se généralise et aboutit à la disparition complète de la population bactérienne (Pascal Maguin, Luciano Marraffini Lab, The Rockefeller University, USA)

Toutes les bactéries ne sont pas sensibles aux bactériophages, puisque les bactéries ont développé la capacité de devenir résistantes aux bactériophages. La phagothérapie, dénommée également thérapie phagique, consiste à produire des bactériophages spécifiques et à les utiliser pour une infection bactérienne. C’est Félix d’Hérelle, en étant à l’institut Pasteur, qui a le premier eu l’idée d’utiliser les bactériophages pour traiter les infections bactériennes chez l’homme et l’animal. Du fait de la découverte des antibiotiques et la généralisation de la production des béta-lactamines au cours de l’après-guerre, la phagothérapie a progressivement disparu en France juste avant les années 1980. Les Pr. Paul Sédallian et André Bertoye de la clinique des maladies infectieuses des Hospices Civils de Lyon, localisée à l’hôpital de la Croix-rousse, avaient développé en collaboration avec l’institut Pasteur de Lyon le concept de phagothérapie personnalisée, en isolant la bactérie responsable d’une infection complexe chez un patient, et en “entraînant” spécifiquement des bactériophages sur cette souche au laboratoire, avant d’injecter ces bactériophages sélectionnés et entraînés, au patient.

Photographie de l’équipe médicale de la clinique des maladies infectieuses dirigée par le Pr. A. Bertoye  dans les années 1970, dans le “batiment d’isolement” de l’hôpital de la Croix-Rousse construit au début du XXème siècle.

 

A ce jour, des bactériophages sont fabriqués en Géorgie. Ils ne sont pas disponibles en France car ils ne sont pas fabriqués selon les normes Européennes de bonnes pratiques de fabrication, et peuvent entraîner des réactions potentiellement sévères, du fait d’une purification insuffisante, s’ils sont utilisés par voie intraveineuse ou directement dans une articulation (il persiste potentiellement des débris bactériens). En France, une société privée fabrique des bactériophages dirigés contre le staphylocoque doré et des bactériophages dirigés contre Pseudomonas aeruginosa, une autre bactérie. Le CRIOAc Lyon a collaboré avec cette société pour développer et sélectionner les bactériophages paraissant les plus pertinents pour traiter les IOA. L’utilisation de phage thérapeutique en Europe occidentale doit suivre les recommandations de l’agence Européenne du médicament (European Medicines Agency), pour assurer la sécurité de la fabrication, et donc la tolérance du traitement.

A qui s’adresse le traitement, dans quelle(s) circonstance(s) ?

En théorie, il n’est pas possible de pouvoir bénéficier de ce type de traitement, car aucune étude n’a encore été réalisée en France, en dehors d’une étude réalisée chez le patient brulé. Dans le cadre de son mandat de Centre de Référence des Infections Ostéoarticulaires complexes, les HCL (CRIOAc Lyon) ont traité quelques patients avec une infection ostéoarticulaire par phagothérapie, et nous rapportons ces expériences sous la forme de “cas clinique” publiés dans des revues médicales internationales, ainsi que dans nos communications scientifiques. Il s’agissait d’infections essentiellement sur prothèse articulaire, majoritairement liées à des bactéries multirésistantes, dans des situations dramatiques, en sauvetage, en complément d’une nouvelle chirurgie et d’une antibiothérapie prolongée. Le traitement a pu être délivré à titre compassionnel et exceptionnel, sous supervision de L’Agence Nationale de Sécurité du Médicament et des produits de santé (ANSM).

Comment se déroule le traitement (du point de vue du patient) ?

La situation clinique doit être discutée en Réunion de Concertation Pluridisciplinaire (RCP) au CRIOAc Lyon (cela peut prendre du temps). Ensuite il est nécessaire d’obtenir en culture les bactéries responsables de l’infection et, en fonction de la situation clinique et de la résistance du germe, si un traitement de sauvetage par bactériophage est jugé nécessaire dans une situation d’une exceptionnelle gravité, l’accord de l’ANSM sera demandé pour la mise en oeuvre du traitement. Les différents bactériophages disponibles sont testés dans un premier temps sur milieu solide et liquide, pour sélectionner ceux qui sont actifs.

phagogramme

Phagogramme réalisé sur un milieu gélosé solide montrant des plages de lyses bactérienne (à gauche; Photo T. Ferry), et phagogramme dynamique en milieu liquide (à droite; crédit C. Kolenda ). La bactérie, sans bactériophage, se multiplie dans le milieu de culture (courbe bleue). La même bactérie est mise en culture avec des bactériophages, qui peuvent être inactifs (courbe rouge), ou être totalement actif (courbe verte, aucune croissance bactérienne n’est détectée). Un début de croissance bactérienne, secondairement inhibiée par le bactériophage peut être détectée (courbe turquoise), ou une pousse bactérienne secondaire peut apparaître (courbe violette).

 

Les bactériophages sélectionnés sont ensuite envoyés au Pharmacien Hospitalier dont c’est la responsabilité de faire une préparation magistrale extemporanée (le jour de l’opération) avec ce cocktail de bactériophage personnalisé, alors administré au moment de l’opération par un chirurgien sensibilisé à ce type de traitement.

Préparation sous un poste de sécurité microbiologique, dans des conditions stériles, d’un cocktail personnalisé de bactériophages sous forme de préparation magistrale par le pharmacien hospitalier (Photo T. Ferry).

Quels sont les contre-indications, les risques ?

Comme aucun essai thérapeutique n’a été réalisé à ce jour en France, les risques sont mal connus ainsi que les doses efficaces, c’est pourquoi ce type de traitement est proposé en sauvetage, en dernier recours, dans des situations jugées comme exceptionnelles en RCP.

Les suites du traitement

Le suivi de ce type de traitement est identique à toutes les autres infections ostéarticulaires, avec une attention particulière au risque de survenue d’évènement indésirable jusque là non connu (fièvre, frissons, immunisation, développement d’anticorps dirigés contre les bactériophages) et aux rechutes éventuelles.

Pourquoi il n’est pas possible de généraliser ce traitement ?

Pour que ce traitement puisse être généralisé, il est nécessaire de rechercher dans l’environnement plusieurs phages actifs contre chacune les bactéries impliquées (phage discovery) pour constituer ainsi des “banques de bactériophage”. Il est nécessaire ensuite de pouvoir financer des campagnes de production et de purification selon les normes Européennes de bonnes pratiques de fabrication, et enfin de réaliser des essais thérapeutiques dans le domaine des infections ostéoarticulaires, dans chacune des indications potentiellement pertinentes, pour démontrer scientifiquement qu’ils peuvent apporter un bénéfice.

Comment aller plus loin ?

Toute l’équipe du CRIOAc Lyon, avec le soutien institutionnel des HCL, de la Fondation HCL, de l’université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 et du CIRI, souhaite développer la phagothérapie. Cependant cela est bien sûr complexe, et nécessite un investissement de tous les acteurs concernés, notamment pour constituer une banque académique (c’est à dire à but non lucratif) de bactériophages couvrant les principales bactéries impliquées dans les IOA, et in fine proposer des essais thérapeutiques. Vous pouvez découvrir ce projet dénommé PHAGEinLYON, et devenir acteur en le soutenant en cliquant ICI.